Baroque Ensemble
«Novaya Gollandia»

  one of the first ensembles in Russia playing period instruments.

  Members of the Novaya Gollandia Ensemble:

Pavel Andreyev (transverse flute)
Yulia Lurye (baroque violin, viola da gamba)
Liubov Pavlova (baroque cello)
Mikhail Blekher (harpsichord)

  The Baroque Ensemble Novaya Gollandia (New Holland) was created in 1989 by the flautist Pavel Andreyev, later joined by other young musicians, all graduates of the St. Petersburg Conservatory who pursued the common goal of achieving the pure sounds of 17th and 18th century European music. The musicians have the privilege of playing on original and period museum instruments from the Museum of Musical Instruments (the Prince Sheremetev Palace).

  Over the years the Ensemble has acquired fame and recognition in Russia. Tours have included the Baltic States, Poland, Yugoslavia, Germany, Finland, Italy, Holland and participation in international music festivals. The Ensemble holds a Diploma from the Moscow Festival of Baroque Music. In St. Petersburg, the Novaya Gollandia Ensemble organized and performed in a series of baroque music concerts at the Maly Philharmonic Hall during the 92-93, 93-94, and 97-98 concert seasons, and the Ensemble continues to perform there and at many other venues around St. Petersburg today on a regular basis. Concerts are dedicated to different musical instruments, composers, unknown music, etc.

  The repertoire of the Ensemble includes many different programs of 16th - 19th century European music, such as "Grounds. Ciaccones. Passagualias", "Vivaldi. Concertos for a Chamber Ensemble", "Music at the Court of Louis XIV", "Bach and His Predecessors", "An Evening of Flute Quartets" and many others.

  The Ensemble has also put together a unique program entitled "Music of the Russian Court at the End of the 18th Century", which includes pieces from the archives of the Russian Empress Elizaveta Alexeyevna (wife of Tsar Alexander I) which, most likely, have never been performed after her reign..

  A collection of Lodoviko Madonis sonatas was performed in 2007 in cooperation with specialists from the Russian National Library Music Department . Lodoviko Madonis was the famous Italian violinist who played at the Russian court during the 18th century. These sonatas were lost during the composer's lifetime and have only recently been discovered.

  The repertoire is performed by a group of 3 to 10 musicians.